Archive for June 29th, 2009

Looking at ‘type’

It is said that when we do values work with clients it is best not to show them lists of values… yes there is such a thing, and on it you will find such words as ‘beauty’, ‘tradition’, ‘accuracy’, ‘zest’, ‘collaboration’. This is stated because people will shop for values. We sometimes choose the values that we would like to stand for opposed to those that truly represent who we are.

I have to admit I did a similar thing recently with the Typing Application on the iphone which is based on the Myers Briggs Type indicator. If you are unfamiliar with this assessment it is based on the work of Carl Jung and it asks you questions that will define you between –

Extraverting or Introverting (E or I)
Sensing or Intuiting (S or N)
Thinking or Feeling (T or F)
Judging or Perceiving (J or P)

As I clasp my iphone I survey each of the 16 combinations of types which sit in four quadrants across my screen and I look at each of the icons. The icons are the element that really has me shopping. I begin to wonder what it would be like to be a Sunshiney ESFP known as the ‘Motivator Presenter’ in the Improviser quadrant or a sure footed ISTP known as the ‘Analyzer Operator’ because the icon of those toes look so cute and so purposeful. I also note that my favorite icons are all in the Improviser quadrant…I obviously want to be over there.

I however took a Myers Briggs several years ago and I was ‘typed’ as ENTJ, and I have since taken abridged versions of the MBTI (Myers Briggs Type Indicator) which also indicate I am a ENTJ though I do seem to be able to flirt with ESTJ…too….

Answering the simple questionnaire on the iphone app actually gave me a couple of result choices in the ‘Theorist’ quadrant but on the recent software update, with the more comprehensive assessment I was firmly an ENTJ again, a ‘Strategist Mobilizer’ with the icon of a crown. I have nothing against the crown, infact it looks kind of fairytale like which is interesting to me but it is just not as vibrant as the suns, as joyful as the feet or as balanced as the ying/yang symbols.

So today I imagine my crown at a jaunty angle, and that feels much better. I can embrace my ENTJness as long as I can wear my icon with a wink.

C
For more information on Myers Briggs assessments and how it could be useful to you visit www.myersbriggs.org

© RBC – Working together to nourish lives
A Red Barn Coaching initiative www.redbarncoaching.com

Would you like to read about nourishment in all its guises twice a week? We issue ‘Nourishing Conversations’ to our subscribers every Monday and Thursday, click here to subscribe by email or if you prefer to use an RSS reader you will find the orange chicklet below..

The Red Barn Cooperative

↑ Grab this Headline Animator