Armchair education

Last night a friend told me that another friend of his has decided to build himself a straw bale house. He has no idea how to do it and is going to educate himself on the job. I found this very inspirational and also caught myself lamenting again that I really need to get on with plans for the house rebuild and this morning I began to look into viable resources to really kick start what seems quite an ominous project (I will spare you the details but it involves a historic preservation order ya da ya da…) and I began to wonder if I really should have just taken the time to attend ‘Green Build’; wondering if the inspiration, determination and big picture benefits that I am looking for are simply sat at this Boston conference held by the United States Green Building Council.
Just as I am about to pontificate this I notice that I have an email in my inbox telling me that all the Green Build keynotes are being streamed live on Greenbuild365! Greenbuild365 is the USGBC’s interactive green building learning portal aka education without having to leave my very comfortable armchair!

I think this is a great opportunity for anyone interested in the green building movement so just DVR tonight’s episodes of Ugly Betty and Grey’s Anatomy and instead sit down and take in a couple of hours of ‘Green’ Education by visiting Green Build.

If you want to know more about the work of the USGBC itself you can also view ‘USBGC at 15’. Eight documentaries celebrating 15yrs of the Green Building Council that share the perspectives of a few of the pivotal leaders of the green building movement, these can be found on You Tube at USGBC at 15.

So by not going to Boston I may have missed out on a really fresh seafood dinner, a visit with good friends and the chance to run into Patriot QB Matt Cassel but ultimately I’m very happy that due to the wonder of technology I don’t have to miss out on any Green Build inspiration.

I hope you find it interesting too.
Candice

© The Red Barn Cooperative – Working together to nourish lives
A Red Barn Coaching initiative www.redbarncoaching.com

Would you like to read about nourishment in all its guises twice a week? We issue ‘Nourishing Conversations’ to our subscribers every Monday and Thursday, click here to subscribe by email or if you prefer to use an RSS reader you will find the orange chiclet up on the right…

The Red Barn Cooperative

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

0 Responses to “Armchair education”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

