The nourishment of goo

I missed the grape stomp this weekend. Penny got to play and I have to tell you I am a little jealous.

Now I have to admit that last year when I was actually at the grape stomp, stood in that large vat up to my knees, I thought it was probably the most icky thing that I had possibly ever done….with my feet. Have you ever stomped grapes after a few hundred people have stomped before you? The experience is more like wading in warm purple soup. I vowed that this year I would get there early while the grapes were plump and cool so that I may crush and squelch to my hearts desire predicting many squeals of delight.

And now I feel deprived and actively looking for something else that may have that same kind of gooey playful pay off. Children have it lucky, they have so many wonderful reasons to use their hands and play with goo, whether that be finger painting, playdoh or homemade paste like concoctions..

The experience of touching interesting textures is something that I still love today, I can often be found in Starbucks submerging and swirling my hand around in the tub of display beans, I buy swatches of material if I really like the texture and I have a few odd childlike toys around the office to squish and stretch for no reason other than to have that pleasurable sensation of manipulating something pliable.

This week I am setting a call to action to get your feet or hands into something other than your computer. Feel the soil in your back garden, a gooey cake mix, build a sand castle, play in a river, make sushi; really notice what you touch this week and see what nourishment you find there.

The gooeyer the better!
Candice

© The Red Barn Cooperative – Working together to nourish lives
A Red Barn Coaching initiative www.redbarncoaching.com

Would you like to read about nourishment in all its guises twice a week? We issue ‘Nourishing Conversations’ to our subscribers every Monday and Thursday, click here to subscribe by email or if you prefer to use an RSS reader you will find the orange chiclet up on the right…

The Red Barn Cooperative

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

0 Responses to “The nourishment of goo”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

